Lub d Bangkok Siam Square: Best Value for Money

Standard

Lub d Bangkok Siam Square: Best Value for Money 

What makes a hostel the best choice of accommodation for a solo traveler? Obviously price is its biggest selling point. If you do not have the luxury of cash or ownership of a credit card with an attractive limit, sleeping in a hostel would be the best way to explore a new place without extravagantly spending. It also offers an environment that is appealing to anyone traveling alone because you will have the opportunity to mingle with the other guests. It is common in hostels to have a common area where you can drink with other people, play games, watch a movie, and engage in conversations. It also offers cultural diversity and the opportunity to learn more not only about the country that you are visiting, but also the countries where the other guests are from. It also somehow forces you to go out and explore your destination, unlike in hotels where you might be tempted to just lounge by the pool for hours or be pampered by room service. Lastly, they are generally staffed with people who are hospitable and who will treat you like you are in a friend’s house and not in some place with an uptight environment.

Staying in a hostel forms a part of your travel experience. The people you meet and the conversations you had will always make you reminiscent of the good time you had during your last trip.

Given the many things that make a hostel inviting, I was convinced that it was the best choice for my accommodation in my recent trip to Bangkok. With the help of Google, I found Lub D Bangkok Siam Square. Siam is considered to be a shopaholic’s haven. While I do not really like shopping, I still opted to stay at Lub D because I loved the place the first time I read about it. When I visited their website, I was already decided that it is where I am going to stay. Try visiting their website and you will see what I am talking about.

I booked my accommodation at Lub D through Hostel World. For a 4-day, 3-night stay (Jan 4 to 7), I paid a total of 1,800 baht (2,250 pesos) for a Basic 4-bed Mixed Dorm. I booked it about a month before my trip and had to pay 10% deposit. I had the remaining amount settled upon check-in.

Image

Lub D offers 5 different room types. For more discerning travelers who seek privacy, there are Econo Twin, Econo Double, and Double Deluxe Rooms that are available. If you do not mind staying in a room with strangers, you can choose from Ladies’ Deluxe Dorm and Mixed Dorm, both of which have 4 beds in one room.

The check-in time at Lub D is 2pm. I flew out of Phuket at 8am and was already at the hostel around 10:30. I was advised that no room is available yet so I had to leave my things and head out. I came back at 2pm and was given my electronic keycard and room number. I stayed at the third floor of the hostel, Room 305. Upon entering the room, there were two bunk beds. The first guest to arrive gets the opportunity to choose the preferred bed. I chose the bottom bunk from the bed facing the door. There are personal lockers in each room. You have to bring your own lock for security purposes. In my case, I just put my bag inside the locker and did not bother getting a lock at all. There are also individual reading lights, sockets, and a card holder that will activate the room’s AC. The mattress and blankets were thick, clean, and comfortable. The room has minimal and captivating design.

Image

The Room

The hostel’s building has four floors. The Econo Twin and Econo Double Rooms are located on the fourth floor. The Deluxe Dorm, the room where I stayed, is on the third floor. On the second floor are the double deluxe rooms. The theater is also found on the second floor. Meanwhile, the ladies’ deluxe dorm is located at the ground floor. The gender-separate shared bathrooms are located on the first, third, and fourth floors.  The bathrooms were clean and spacious, with complete toiletries.  The laundry area is also on the ground floor. There are coin-operated washing machines that can prove to be useful for people who are traveling for an extended period of time. Here, you can also see vending machines, including one that sells condoms. To enter the main area, you need to tap your access card on the glass door located near the baggage storage and reception area. The hostel can keep your luggage for as long as two months for free. In front of the reception, there is a waiting area of generous size, 8 desktop computers, and a desk for booking various tours and other inquiries. They have free Wi-Fi throughout the hostel. Your password will be based on your bed and room number.

Image

The Bathroom

Image

Image

Image

The first thing that you will see upon entering the hostel is their bar. This is the place frequented by guests who would like to have a drink while getting to know other people. At most nights, I will also drink here before going out. It has a relaxing ambiance and a wide selection of drinks that can prove to be perfect for warming up before experiencing the infamous Bangkok nightlife. The bar also serves light breakfast.

Image

Image

The Bar

Another thing that makes this hostel ideal is its location. It is near MBK, Central World, Siam Paragon, and Siam Discovery, among others. It is a few steps away from BTS Skytrain, National Stadium Station. Getting around Bangkok will never be a problem because the train station is just a stone’s throw away.

Image

Terrace at the 3rd floor. You can see the escalator going to BTS Skytrain

The hostel has very accommodating employees who will be more than willing to extend a helping hand in whatever way they could. Because taking the taxi around the city can prove to be a disaster, considering how barely the drivers could understand English, you can ask for help from the front desk. If you are heading to a specific club, give the name of the club and the employee will write it in Thai. Give this to the driver and you will have lesser of a problem commuting.

My stay at Lub D made my Bangkok trip worth sharing. I was inspired to travel more, especially with the experiences of my roommates. Nora and Juan, two students from Columbia, are traveling Southeast Asia for 6 months, including Philippines. Zooey, who is from Turkey, traveled Thailand with for 6 months. Most of the other people in the hostel are traveling throughout Asia for an extended period of time. I felt quite a loser as I was on vacation only for a week. The hostel, the guests, the employees, and the experience in general made me keen on planning my return to Bangkok. Lub D Bangkok Siam Square is indeed a place worth recommending.

Image

One thought on “Lub d Bangkok Siam Square: Best Value for Money

Leave a Reply

